The magical number seven

In many traditions, myths and folklores there are associations with the number 7. Let’s look at some of these:

In the Old and New Testaments there are many references to this number:

  • Seven days of Creation (Genesis 1) –  God rested on and sanctified the seventh day
  • Seven years of plenty and seven years of famine in Pharaoh’s dream (Genesis 41)
  • Seven days of the feast of Passover (Exodus 13:3–10)
  • Seven year cycle around the years of Jubilee (Leviticus 25)
  • The fall of the walls of Jericho on the seventh day after marching around the city seven times (Joshua 6)
  • Seven things that are detestable to the LORD (Proverbs 6:16–19)
  • Seven Pillars of the House of Wisdom (Proverbs 9:1)
  • Seven loaves multiplied into seven baskets of surplus (Matthew 15:32–37)
  • The Seven last words (or seven last sayings) of Jesus on the cross
  • Seven men of honest report, full of the Holy Ghost and wisdom (Acts 6:3)
  • Seven Spirits of God are mentioned in the Book of Revelation
  • Seven churches of Asia to which the “Book of Revelation” is addressed
  • Seven churches, seven stars, seven seals, seven last plagues, seven vials or bowls, seven thunders in the Revelation

The seven Sacraments of the Christian Church

The Seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit: wisdom, understanding, right judgment, courage, knowledge, reverence and wonder.

The Seven Virtues: chastity, temperance, charity, diligence, kindness, patience, and humility
The Seven deadly sins: lust, gluttony, greed, sloth, wrath, envy, and pride

In sanskrit seven is sapta. (Interestingly in Romanian, which is a latin language “seven” is “sapte” and “week” is  “saptamana”). In hinduism the traditions that refer to seven are:

  • Seven Promises, Seven Rounds in Hindu Wedding and Seven Reincarnations
  • According to Hinduism, there are seven worlds in the universe, seven seas in the world and seven Rishies (seven gurus) called sapta rishis.
  • Seven hills at tirumala also known as ezhu malaiyan means Sevenhills god

There are 7 Chakras in the basic model used in various eastern traditions and philosophies. Isaac Newton identified 7 colors of the rainbow – red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, and violet. allegedly, the same seven colors are attributed to the seven chakras.

In the classical antiquity we found references to seven:

  • Seven Emperors: Julius Caesar, Augustus, Galba, Hadrian, Nerva, Sallust, Vespasian
  • Seven hills of Rome
  • Seven hills of Constantinople
  • Seven Liberal Arts
  • Seven Sages of Greece: Thales of Miletus, Pittacus of Mytilene, Bias of Priene, Solon, Cleobulus of Lindus, Myson of Chen, and Chilon of Sparta.
  • Seven Sages of the Bamboo Grove – in China –
  • Seven Wise Masters, a cycle of medieval stories –
  • Seven Wonders of the ancient world: Great Pyramid of Giza, Hanging Gardens of Babylon, Temple of Artemis at Ephesus, Statue of Zeus at Olympia, Mausoleum of Halicarnassus, Colossus of Rhodes, and the Lighthouse of Alexandria.

Islam religion speaks about the seven heavens and the seven levels of Earth. Also it refers to:

  • The seven fires of hell
  • The number of doors to hell is also seven
  • In Verse 12:46  of the Quran, Joseph (Yusef) is asked to interpret the King’s dream where seven fat cows were dreamt to have been devoured by seven skinny cows and seven green spikes, and others shrivelled.
  • It is widely accepted that Surah Al Kahf (Surah 18, verse 9–26) narrates the story of Seven Sleepers who travelled in time by sleeping in a cave for three hundred solar years and nine lunar years, which is similar to the Christian myth of the same name.

Also we found seven as:

  • The number of Archangels (according to some systems)
  • The minor symbol number of yang from the Taoist yin-yang.
  • The number of palms in an Egyptian Sacred Cubit.
  • The number of ranks in Mithraism.
  • The number seven is of particular significance within Cherokee cosmology.
  • In the Bahá’í faith, the text The Seven Valleys, by the Prophet-Founder Bahá’u’lláh, relates the journey of the soul through the seven “valleys” of Search, Love, Knowledge, Unity, Contentment, Wonderment, and finally True Poverty and Absolute Nothingness.
  • In Buddhism, Buddha walked 7 steps at his birth.
  • Circle Seven Koran, the holy scripture of the Moorish Science Temple of America
  • The Seven Lucky Gods refer to the seven gods of good fortune in Japanese mythology.
  • In Khasi mythology, the seven divine women who were left behind on earth and became the ancestress of all humankind.
  • The number of gateways traversed by Inanna during her descent into the underworld.
  • The number of sleeping men in the Christian myth of the “Seven Sleepers.”
  • The number of sages in Hindu mythology; their wives are the goddesses referred to as the “Seven Mothers.”
  • The number of main islands of mythological Atlantis.
  • In Guaraní mythology, the number of prominent legendary monsters.
  • In Irish mythology, the epic hero Cúchulainn is associated with the number 7. He has 7 fingers on each hand, 7 toes on each foot, and 7 pupils in each eye. In the Irish epic Táin Bó Cúailnge, Cúchulainn is 7 years old when he receives his first weapons and defeats the armies of the Ulaidh and his son Connla is 7 years old when he is slain by Cúchulainn in “The Death of Aife’s Only Son.”

The 7th glyph of the Mayan Calendar is Blue Hand, it represents the days in creation and is associated with creative perfection.

The number of musical notes in the traditional Western Major Scale is seven.

and my Seven Stars 🙂


3 thoughts on “The magical number seven

  1. 7 is considered the pefect number as in trilogy there are 7 combinations of creation between the Spirit,(First Cause)
    the Father,
    the Son,
    In other words,
    The True Natural Creator(First Cause),
    The First creation(Father) of The True Natural Creator(First Cause),and
    The first creation(Son) between The True Natural Creator(First cause) And the First Creation(Co-Creator)
    1. First Cause, 2. The Co-Creator, 3. First Cause and The Co-Creator. 4. First Cause And The Son, 5. The Co-Creator & The Son, 6. The Son, 7. First Cause,The Co-Creator,And The Son.
    Hence 7 is the number of Completion.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s